Town elections are Monday – here’s what you need to know

Southborough’s annual town elections are on Monday. Here’s everything you need to know before you head to the polls.

When to vote
Polls are open from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm on Monday, May 14.

Where to vote
Southborough has three precincts, and each precinct votes at a different location. Don’t know what precinct you’re in? Visit

  • Precinct 1: Woodward Elementary School, 28 Cordaville Rd. (map)
  • Precinct 2: Trottier Middle School, 49 Parkerville Rd. (map)
  • Precinct 3: Finn School, 60 Richards Rd. (map)

Who’s on the ballot
There are two contested races in Southborough this year. Bill Boland and Leo Bartolini Jr. are vying for a seat on the Board of Selectmen, and Andrew Mills and Sam Stivers are competing for a seat on the Planning Board.

Here are all the names you’ll find on the ballot.

  • Moderator (vote for one): David A. Coombs, candidate for re-election
  • Board of Selectmen (vote for one): William J. Boland, 35 candidate for re-election; Leo F. Bartolini, Jr.
  • Assabet Valley Regional Vocational School District Committee (vote for one): James W. Denman, candidate for re-election
  • Board of Commissioners of Trust Funds (vote for one): Michael S. Bakshi
  • Board of Assessors (vote for one): Arthur K. Holmes, candidate for re-election
  • Board of Health (vote for one): Louis Fazen, III, candidate for re-election
  • Board of Trustees Library (vote for not more than two): Beth A. Rosenbloom, candidate for re-election; Jane A. Smith candidate for re-election
  • School Committee (vote for not more than two): Marybeth R. Strickland, candidate for re-election; Gerald V. Capra
  • Northborough-Southborough Regional School District Committee – Southborough candidate (vote for not more than two): Susan P. Dargan, candidate for re-election; Kathleen A. Harragan, candidate for re-election
  • Northborough-Southborough Regional School District Committee – Northborough candidate (vote for not more than two): Helynne B. Winter, candidate for re-election; Ganaraja Thejaswi
  • Northborough-Southborough Regional School District Committee – Northborough candidate (vote for one): Scott Michael Karpuk
  • Planning Board (vote for one): Donald C. Morris, candidate for re-election
  • Planning Board (vote for one): Andrew S. Mills; Sam R. Stivers
  • Southborough Housing Authority (vote for one): Marianna Surette

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
11 years ago


Big investigation that cost taxpayers needless legal bills because some town workers met over pizza to discuss town issues. Give me a break. (handled very poorly by Bill). As if the meeting really was a big deal.

Failure to support our Chief of Police in the purchase of a simple Washer & Dryer – I am fiscally conservative but this is basics folks. Police need a washer and dryer to clean prisoner blankets.

Most importantly – Bill Failed to step up and protect one of Southboro’s finest. When Police Officer [redacted] was injured several years ago and became permanently disabled, Bill failed to step up and help [him] and ensure his injury on the job was handled fairly. [He] and his family suffered a lot of emotional damage from his disability claim and ultimately he forced to retire due to his disability. Leadership is stepping up and having the courage to lead (even when it is not popular). Bill let [the police officer] down (a 20 year town resident) who worked nights on the police force protecting our residents.

If people vote for Bill they are not taking the time to really understand the candidate. I I like Bill but it is time for a change.

PS the Firetruck issue is clear, Bill did not support it. The fact that Rebecca is supporting Mr. Bartolini is obvious, she feel Bill misrepresented his role in the supporting the truck. Pretty simple! As soon as the firetruck became a success Bill jumped aboard (which is not surprising in politics) but he should have had the wisdom to avoid even remotely appearing as though he in some way facilitated or supported the purchase of truck.

[Ed note: Redacted to protect personal information]

  • © 2024 — All rights reserved.