ARHS Athletic Hall of Fame inducting 10 new members

A week from today, Algonquin Regional High School will induct more former hometown heroes and MVPs into their Athletic Hall of Fame.

ARHS’ Hall of Fame was established in 1998 to honor former athletes and coaches. Inductions are made every two years on weekends that Algonquin is home for the Thanksgiving Football game.

In it’s 10th bi-annual ceremony, the school will be honoring the following alumni:

  • Caitlyn Baker Gildart (Contributor Class of 1999)*
  • Joseph Berube (Class of 1990)
  • Brian Cooke (Class of 2006)
  • Bobby Cooley (Class of 2006)
  • Michael Cooley (Class of 2005)
  • Sarah Dahlstrom (Class of 2011)
  • Bill Griffin (Class of 1987)
  • Elizabeth Holmes (Class of 2012)
  • Chet Leonard (Class of 1964)
  • Carly O’Connell (Class of 2012)

To to be considered for the honor, the athletes had to have graduated more than seven years prior and completed three academic years at Algonquin. (Coaches would have to have served on the athletic staff for at least seven years.)

To learn more about the Hall of Fame, click here.

The induction will take place on Friday, November 24, 2017 at 11:30 am in the high school cafeteria, after a buffet luncheon. But if you don’t already have tickets, it may be too late.

The RSVP date was listed as November 10th. (Tickets were to be purchased through the athletic department for $30 each. For more information contact Fran Whitten,
Athletic Director, at 508-351-7010, ext. 1021.)

*Worth noting, according to the description of the Hall of Fame on its website, it’s origins have a direct link to one of this year’s inductees:

The Algonquin Athletic Council proudly announced the formation of the school’s Athletic Hall of Fame in the spring of 1998. The Athletic Council was created by Francis Whitten, Director of Athletics, as a student centered organization designed to involve student-athletes in the development of policy and programming within the athletic department. Under the strong leadership of Caitlin Baker class of 1999, one of the council’s first initiatives was the creation of an Athletic Hall of Fame.

It’s also worth noting that Fran Whitten returned to the school as interim Athletics Director this fall. Whitten informed the school paper that one of the few changes he hoped to make was reinstituting the Athletic Council, which he believed had fallen by the wayside.

  • © 2022 — All rights reserved.