What you need to know for election day

Tomorrow is election day. Polls in Southborough (and elsewhere) will be open from 7:00 am to 8:00 pm. There are three polling stations in Southborough, one for each of our three precincts. To find out which precinct you’re in and where you should go to vote visit www.wheredoivotema.com.

I admit I’ll be doing some cramming tonight to figure out who I’m going to vote for in some of these races. If you’re in the same boat, check out these helpful resources:

The majority of the ballot is the same regardless of which precinct you’re in. The exception is the race for state representative. Precints 2 and 3 fall into the Eight Middlesex District, where voters will get to choose between incumbent Democrat Carolyn Dykema and Liberty party candidate Jonathan Loya. Precinct 1 falls into the Fourth Middlesex District, where voters have a choice between incumbent Democrat Danielle Gregoire and Republican Steven Levy.

Keep reading to find out who else is on the ballot in Southborough.

Governor and Lieutenant Governor

  • Patrick and Murray, Democrat
  • Baker and Tisei, Republican
  • Cahill and Loscocco, Independent
  • Stein and Purcell, Green-Rainbow

Attorney General

  • Martha Coakley, Democrat (Candidate for re-election)
  • James Mckenna , Republican

Secretary of State

  • William Francis Galvin, Democrat (Candidate for re-election)
  • William Campbell, Republican
  • James Henderson, Unenrolled


  • Steven Grossman, Democrat
  • Karyn Polito, Republican


  • Suzanne Bump, Democrat
  • Mary Connaughton, Republican
  • Nathanael Alexander Fortune, Green-rainbow

Representative in Congress, Third District

  • James Mcgovern, Democrat (Candidate for re-election)
  • Martin Lamb, Republican
  • Patrick Barron, Independent

Councillor, Third District

  • Marilyn Petitto Devaney, Democrat (Candidate for re-election)
  • Nicholas Iannuzzi , Independent

Senator in General Court, Middlesex & Worcester District

  • James Eldridge, Democrat (Candidate for re-election)
  • George Thompson, Republican

Representative in General Court, Eighth Middlesex District (Southborough Precincts 2 & 3 only)

  • Carolyn Dykema, Democrat (Candidate for re-election)
  • Jonathan Loya, Liberty

Representative in General Court, Fourth Middlesex District (Southborough Precinct 1 only)

  • Danielle Gregoire, Democrat (Candidate for re-election)
  • Steven Levy, Republican

District Attorney, Middle District

  • Joseph Early, Jr., Democrat (Candidate for re-election)

Sheriff, Worcester County

  • Lewis Evangelidis, Republican
  • Thomas Foley, Democrat
  • Keith Nicholas, Independent

Ballot Questions

  • Question 1: Removing the sales tax on alcoholic beverages
  • Question 2: Repeal 40B affordable housing law
  • Question 3: Reduce the state sales tax from 6.25% to 3%

  • © 2023 MySouthborough.com — All rights reserved.