Algonquin musicians perform in district concert at Mechanics Hall

Above: Algonquin students selected to perform in Central District Senior High Festival Concert at Mechanics Hall (photo by Sue Teplansky)

Here’s some news sent in by the Northborough-Southborough Music Association:

For the second year in a row, thirty-four students were selected to represent Algonquin Regional High School at the Massachusetts Music Educators Association’s (MMEA) Central District Senior Festival Concert which took place at Mechanics Hall in Worcester on Saturday, January 15th.

Over a thousand students from more than fifty surrounding towns/schools auditioned for this prestigious event and it was an honor to be among the nearly four hundred selected. The students were judged on prepared music as well as sight reading in the categories of accuracy, rhythm, technique, tone and musicianship.

Depending on their musical expertise, students were selected to perform either in the chorus, jazz band, concert band or orchestra. Students with superior scores were recommended for MMEA’s All-State Concert performed at Boston Symphony Hall at the end of March. This year, Algonquin reached new heights as twenty-three students were recommended for All-State auditions.

Amy Collins, chairman of the Fine and Performing Arts Department, was thrilled to have such a great representation from Algonquin. “These kids are so deserving of this honor, they are talented and work so hard. I’m proud of each and every one of them”

To follow is a list of students from Northborough and Southborough who performed in the concert on Saturday – an asterik before the name indicates an All-State recommendation.

Instrumental: (*) Dan Chang, cello, Emily Wu, viola, (*) Ariel Chang, violin, (*) Yang Lin, violin, (*) Eddie Lowe, clarinet, (*) Jason Gao, clarinet (*) Elise Farrington, clarinet (*) Ellen Yang, clarinet, Grace Tan, clarinet, (*) Annalise Moschella, flute, (*) Gloria Chen, flute, (*) Gretchen Herdrich, flute, (*) Jenny Ma, flute, Stevie Mayhew, French horn, Ryan Lang, alto sax, (*) Alex Mayhew, trombone, (*) James Martin, trombone, Brendan Brits, trombone, (*) Drew Theran, trumpet, (*) Allison Kenney, jazz trombone, and (*) Jon Tsai, trumpet

Choral: (*) Marisa Vazquez, alto, (*) Rachel Gonsenhauser, alto, (*) Emily Arnold, alto, (*) Xander Teplansky, bass, (*) Zach Lusk, bass, (*) Juliana Fiore, soprano, Jillian Greenspan, soprano, Sara Kendall, soprano, Kate Connolly, soprano, (*) Benjamin Rutan, tenor, Stephen Tzianabos, tenor, Conor Donovan, tenor and David Larson, tenor

  • © 2024 — All rights reserved.