Two contested races in Southborough this year

Yesterday was the deadline for candidates to register for town elections in May. As anticipated, Southborough voters will have a choice in the race for Selectmen between Daniel Kolenda and Jeffrey Rosenberg. They will vie for the seat formerly held by Bonnie Phaneuf who abruptly resigned earlier this year.

The only other contested race, thanks to two last-minute filings, will be for a seat on the Southborough Housing Authority. Colonial Gardens residents Jean Chappelle and Paul Morin are each seeking the single seat on the board. Marianna Surette pulled nomination papers for Housing Authority back in February, but did not return them by yesterday’s filing deadline.

Candidates for all other positions, including Moderator and both the K-8 and Regional school committees, will run unopposed.

Candidates have until April 6 to withdraw their name from the ballot, but barring that, here’s who will be on the ballot in May.

Town Clerk – 1 position
Paul Berry (candidate for re-election)

Board of Selectmen – 1 position
Daniel Kolenda
Jeffrey Rosenberg

Moderator – 1 position
David Combs (candidate for re-election)

Assabet School Committee – 1 position
James Denman

Board of Commissioners of Trust Funds – 1 position
Bill Boland

Board of Assessors – 1 position
Thomas Beaumont (candidate for re-election)

Board of Health – 1 position
Nancy Sacco (candidate for re-election)

Board of Library Trustees – 2 positions
Judith Budz (candidate for re-election)
Nancy Mayo

K-8 School Committee – 2 positions
Kathleen Harragan (candidate for re-election)
Paul Desmond

Regional School Committee – 2 positions
Paul Butka (candidate for re-election)
David Rueger

Planning Board – 1 position
Kathleen Bartolini

Southborough Housing Authority – 1 position
Jean Chappelle
Paul Morin

Town elections will be held on May 9. Today is the last day for residents to register to vote in both the election and at Town Meeting in April.

Note to the candidates: I plan to run a “meet the candidate” series again this year to give all candidates the opportunity to post a personal statement on the blog. Contact me ( for more information.

  • © 2023 — All rights reserved.