Town Election: Vote (or turn in your ballot) tomorrow

The Town Election will be held in person tomorrow, Tuesday, June 16th from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. 

Voters should enter the front doors of Trottier Middle School, 49 Parkerville Road. (Don’t forget your masks.)

It’s too late to apply for early ballots. Those of you who already have them need to return completed ballots to the Town Clerk by end of voting tomorrow. Your best bet is dropping them in the Town’s green mailbox at the Town Hall (17 Common Street).

As for who to cast your votes for. . .

The Board of Commissioners of Trust Funds

This is one of the positions that is blank on the ballot. Today, William Boland, 35 E Main St (currently serving in the seat) submitted a letter asking for you to write-in his name. You can read that here.

Board of Selectmen

Three candidates are running for two seats on the board. Yesterday, the Community Advocate posted a story on them. The paper asked each candidate questions about what makes them the best person for the job, the Town’s primary problems, and more. You can read their answers here.

You can also read the candidates’ statements previously issued on this blog below:

Assabet Valley Regional Voc. Dist

(The Southborough representative on the committee for Assabet Valley Regional Technical High School)

While the ballot is blank, two candidates are running write-in campaigns for the single seat. Their statements links are below:

Northborough – Southborough Regional School Committee – Northborough Candidate

This one is made interesting by the fact that one candidate is also running for three other seats in Northborough and not traditionally campaigning for why he should be elected to this (or any) seat. You can read more about that here, including my endorsement of the top two candidates in the list below. Below are links to the candidates’ statements in The Northborough Guide:

Below are the remaining, uncontested positions on the ballot: 

Town Clerk – 3 year term
James F. Hegarty, 14 Maplecrest Drive (candidate for re-election)

Moderator – 1 year term
Paul M. Cimino, 3 Austin Kelly Lane (candidate for re-election)

Board of Assessors – 3 year term
Tammi A. Rice, 11 Prentiss Street

Board of Health – 3 year term
Nancy A. Sacco, 24 Jericho Hill Road (candidate for re-election)

Board of Trustees Southborough Library

vote for two – 3 year term
Amy S. Yazdani, 16A Bantry Road (incumbent by appointment)
Jane Cecilia Davis, 11 Buffalo Run (candidate for re-election)

vote for one – 2 year term
Janet M. Maney, 21 Skylar Drive (incumbent by appointment)

vote for one – 1 year term
David C. Ekberg, 5 High Street

Northborough-Southborough Regional School Committee – Southborough candidate – vote for two – 3 year term
Paul H. Desmond, 5 Pinecone Lane (candidate for re-election)
Paul Butka, 8 Hubley Lane (candidate for re-election)

Planning Board – 5 year term
Jesse T. Stein, 6 MacNeill Drive (candidate for re-election)

School Committee – vote for two –3 year term
Keturah Martin, 75 Deerfoot Road (candidate for re-election)
Kamali Aieka O’Meally, 8 Maplecrest Drive

Housing Authority – vote for two – 5 year term
John Wood, 10 Gilmore Road
(That leaves one additional write-in position which no one has informed me they are seeking)

  • © 2024 — All rights reserved.