Election update: Voter registration by today and who’s in the running (Updated)

8:00 pm tonight is the deadline for registering to vote in the May 12th Town Election.

This applies to new residents, ones just coming of age by May 12, and residents who have new addresses in town. (Contact the Town Clerk’s office with any questions.)

With five contested seats and an historic change, this is an election you want to be registered for.

The election will expand the Board of Selectmen from 3 to 5 members. Three of those seats are up for grabs in two contests.

The candidates in the contested races are*:

Board Of Selectmen – 3 Years – vote for two

  • Daniel L. Kolenda, Blendon Woods Drive (candidate for re-election)
  • Paul M. Cimino, Austin Kelly Lane
  • Lisa M. Cappello, Middle Road
  • Alfred C. Hamilton, Pine Hill Road
  • David W. Parry, Main Street

Board Of Selectmen – 2 Years – vote for one

  • Bonnie Phaneuf, Middle Road
  • Joseph C. Hubley, Winchester Street
  • Louis Fazen, III, Stowe Road

School Committee (K-8) – 3 Years – vote for two

  • Paul H. Desmond, Pinecone Lane (candidate for re-election)
  • Kathleen A. Harragan, Darlene Drive (candidate for re-election)
  • Timothy W. Martel, Bantry Road

The Library Board of Trustees had looked to be a contest, but isn’t. Dale Burgess informed me that she pulled papers to help the town when she thought there were vacancies. When she learned that both incumbents were running, she had no desire to unseat either.

The following candidates are also running for office*. All are uncontested for the seats they currently occupy: 

  • Paul J. Berry, Cherry Street – Town Clerk – 3 Years
  • David A. Coombs, Deerfoot Road – Moderator – 1 Year
  • William J. Boland, East Main Street – Board Of Commissioners Of Trust Funds – 3 Years
  • Thomas J. Beaumont, Flagg Road – Board Of Assessors – 3 Years
  • Nancy A. Sacco, Jericho Hill Road – Board Of Health – 3 Years
  • Nancy E. Mayo, Birchwood Drive – Board Of Trustees Library – 3 Years
  • Judith K. Budz, Crestview Drive – Board Of Trustees Library – 3 Years
  • Paul C. Butka, Hubley Lane – Northborough-Southborough Regional School Committee (Southborough Candidates) – 3 Years
  • David C. Rueger, Pine Hill Road – Northborough-Southborough Regional School Committee (Southborough Candidates) – 3 Years
  • Philip A. Jenks, Latisquama Road – Planning Board – 5 Years
  • Nancy G. Morris, Pearl Street – Southborough Housing Authority – 5 Years

*This isn’t the official ballot list – but close to. All candidates have filed the paperwork to run, and the deadline has passed for new candidates. Still, candidates have until April 9th to withdraw their names from the ballot.

Updated (3/25/14 6:00 pm) Make sure you save the right date to vote, May 12. I had accidentally listed the wrong one for the election.

(Image cropped from photo by Susan Fitzgerald)

  • © 2023 MySouthborough.com — All rights reserved.