Town Election: Pull papers by Friday to file by Monday; Update on who’s running (Updated)

If you’re interested in running for Town Office, you have until 5:00 pm tomorrow (Friday, March 20th) to pull nomination papers. The deadline to file papers signed by 50 registered voters is this Monday, March 24th.

Don’t forget to call ahead to the Town House to pull papers. To file them, you can drop them in the green box outside the Town House.

Below I’ve shared who has pulled or filed papers to date. It looks like there may be a selectmen’s race brewing.

There are two selectmen with terms ending this may: Lisa Braccio and Dan Kolenda. Braccio has filed papers, along with a new candidate – Advisory member Chelsea Marie Malinowski. Peter LaPine has now also pulled papers, though not yet filed them. Meanwhile, when I last checked in with Kolenda he was still deciding on whether to run for re-election.

It also looks like there could be a vacancy on the Housing Authority.

Here are the seats are up for grabs in the May 12th election. (Unless otherwise specified, each have one seat available.):

Town Clerk – 3 year term
(filed) – James F. Hegarty, 14 Maplecrest Drive (candidate for re-election)

Moderator – 1 year term
Paul M. Cimino, 3 Austin Kelly Lane (candidate for re-election)

Assabet Valley Regional Vocational School District Committee – 4 year term
Mark Pietrewicz, 16 Mitchell Street (incumbent by appointment)

Board of Selectmen vote for two – 3 year term
(filed) – Lisa M. Braccio, 13 Oregon Road (candidate for re-election)
(filed) – Chelsea Marie Malinowski, 1 William Colleary Lane
Peter W. LaPine, 27 Parkerville Road

Board of Assessors – 3 year term
(filed) – Tammi A. Rice, 11 Prentiss Street

Board of Commissioners of Trust Funds – 3 year term
William J. Boland, 35 East Main Street (Candidate for Re-election)

Board of Health – 3 year term
Nancy A. Sacco, 24 Jericho Hill Road (candidate for re-election)

Board of Trustees Southborough Library*

vote for two – 3 year term
(filed) – Amy S. Yazdani, 16A Bantry Road (incumbent by appointment)*
Jane Cecilia Davis, 11 Buffalo Run (candidate for re-election)

vote for one – 2 year term
(filed) – Janet M. Maney, 21 Skylar Drive (incumbent by appointment)*

vote for one – 1 year term
(filed) – David C. Ekberg, 5 High Street*

Northborough-Southborough Regional School CommitteeSouthborough candidate – 3 year term
Paul H. Desmond, 5 Pinecone Lane (candidate for re-election)
Paul Butka, 8 Hubley Lane (candidate for re-election)

Planning Board – 5 year term
(filed) – Jesse T. Stein, 6 MacNeill Drive (candidate for re-election)

School Committee – vote for two –3 year term
Keturah Martin, 75 Deerfoot Road (candidate for re-election)
Kamali Aieka O’Meally, 8 Maplecrest Drive

Housing Authorityvote for two – 5 year term
John Wood
(I’m told that incumbent Marianna Surette plans to pull papers to run for re-election but Bob Jachowicz doesn’t.)

I should note that even candidates above who filed papers have until April 9th to pull their candidacy from the ballot. It wouldn’t be the first time a candidate changed his/her mind about running.

For those of you considering a run, click here to open the Town’s full list of vital dates. If you have questions about the responsibilities of the positions, you can find information here.

Those of you who aren’t planning to run, may still want to note some important dates in our Town democracy. The voter registration deadline is April 22nd at 8:00 pm. And the final day to apply for an absentee ballot is noon on May 11th.

*For the Library Trustees – Three of the candidates pulled papers for all three of the terms listed on the ballot. They seem to have sorted out which seats they are running for by which papers they filed. To avoid confusion, I only listed each once.

Update (3/19/20 3:58 pm): Town Clerk Jim Hegarty updated that John Wood pulled papers for the Housing Authority this afternoon. Hegarty will be in the Town House until the 5:00 pm deadline tomorrow:

anyone can call me at (508) 485-0710 x 3007 and I’ll meet them to give them nomination papers.

  • © 2024 — All rights reserved.