Town Election: Races for Planning Board and just the Nboro seat on Regional School Committee; Candidates Night

Last night was the deadline for candidates to withdraw from the May 10th election. It turns out that since the last time I posted on the election, one candidate made that choice.

Danielle Culgin Goodwin has withdrawn her bid for the Southborough seat on the Northborough-Southborough Regional School Committee. That means that Matthew Spencer (who pulled papers to run after Culgin had filed hers) will be running unopposed.

No one withdrew from the race for Northborough’s seat on the committee. Incumbent Joan Frank is still being challenged by William Barlow Redfern. Although I’m puzzled by the notion that our towns get a say in each other’s representative, that race is on our ballot.

The other race still on our ballot is between Southborough candidates. Debbie DeMuria and Alan Belniak are running for Planning Board. (Both plan to share their Candidate Statements on this blog prior to the election.)

May 10th isn’t the only date to save for the election. The Southborough Library has scheduled Candidate’s Night. That’s on Wednesday, April 27th at 6:30 pm. As usual, it will begin with a public Meet & Greet for all candidates on the ballot. (Refreshments will be provided.)

A program for contested positions will begin at 7:00 pm. Candidates will be able to make brief speeches followed by Q&A moderated by Betsy Rosenbloom.

To vote in the election, make sure you’re registered by April 20th at 7:00 pm. Voting on May 10th is between 6:30 am – 8:00 pm at Trottier Middle School.

Alternatively, you can apply for Absentee Voting here. But it appears that the state has returned to pre-pandemic rules. (This isn’t a mail-in ballot option for anyone who prefers that method. There are criteria for voting Absentee.) The deadline for applying is May 4th.

Below is the updated list of who filed papers. Unless otherwise specified, each position has one seat available:


NB-SB Regional School District Committee (NB Candidate) – 3 year term
Joan Frank (incumbent)
William Barlow Redfern

Planning Board – 5 year term
Alan Belniak
Deborah DeMuria


Board of Assessors – 3 year term
Jeffrey Klein (incumbent)

Board of Commissioners of Trust Funds – 3 year term
Nicholas Mccoy (incumbent)

Board of Health – 3 year term
Safdar Medina (incumbent)**

Board of Trustees Southborough Libraryvote for two3 year term
Marguerite Landry (incumbent)
Janet Maney (incumbent)

Moderator – 1 year term
Paul Cimino (incumbent)

NB-SB Regional School District Committee (SB Candidate) – 3 year term
Matthew Spencer

Select Boardvote for two3 year term
Sam Stivers (incumbent)
Kathy Cook

Southborough School Committee – 3 year term
Roger Challen (incumbent)

**Medina wasn’t previously elected, but is currently serving on the Board of Health. He was appointed last summer to fill the vacancy when former Chair Mary Lou Woodford stepped down.

  • © 2024 — All rights reserved.