Tri-M honors thirty Algonquin students for their academic and musical achievements

Above: Algonquin students inducted this year into the Tri-M Music Honor Society (contributed photo)

Congratulations to the 30 Algonquin students recently inducted into the Tri-M Music Honor Society based on both their musical and academic achievements. Here’s more information sent along by the Northborough Southborough Music Association.

The Algonquin chapter of The Tri-M Music Honor Society inducted thirty new members on January 8, 2013 at the high school. Tri-M, which is a program of the National Association of Music Education, is designed to recognize students for their academic and musical achievements and to provide leadership and service opportunities to young musicians.

After a welcome by Principal Tom Mead, opening words by the Tri-M Officers and the formal induction of new members, the audience heard from Mitch Gordon, founder of Rhythm is Life.

Mr Gordon’s message to the students was that music is the heartbeat of life and as musicians, they are uniquely qualified to go out into the world and do good. Not only because of the entertainment and joy that their music will bring but because they have the disciplined skill to listen and cooperate with others. They have the gift of finding the common heart beat and bringing people together.

Mr. Gordon is an accomplished conductor, drummer and percussionist as well as a fundraiser and non-profit executive director and consultant raising more than $20 million for arts, education, human services and social justice causes.

Inducted into the society were Dan Chang, Nicholas Cheung, Chris Schoener, Justin Kim, Zach Teplansky, Connor Henry, William Frank, Cerena Johnson, Chris Lang, Joe Grieco, Max Teplansky, Emma Becker, Elizabeth Wig, Alyssa Pfannenstiel, Breanna Johnson, Lauren McKenna, Ali Maynard, Julia Baker, Vickie Yin, Lauren McGrail, Elisabeth Waters, Serena Hooker, Wenny Zhang, Manisha Rajaghatta, Elizabeth Cheung, Stephanie Wu, Danielle Doherty, Alexandra Ryan, Jeff Ellis, and Riley Feeney.

After the presentation, each inductee performed a piece individually or as part of an ensemble. You can see a slideshow of the performance below. (Click here to view on YouTube.)

  • © 2024 — All rights reserved.