Masterworks for Solo Piano – February 10 (Updated – again)

Above: A week from Sunday, pianist Ilya Kazantsev will perform a solo concert on St. Mark’s School’s stage. (image left promotional photo right posted to flickr by Allen Chu)

St. Mark’s School is hosting another concert this winter. Unlike the Wick Choral Festival concerts tonight and tomorrow, this one requires tickets.

On Sunday, February 10th, pianist Ilya Kazantsev will perform on the school’s stage. He’ll be playing two solo pieces:

  • Frederic Chopin–24 Preludes, Op. 28
  • Sergei Rachmaninov–Etudes-Tableaux, Op. 39

A few years ago, the Washington Post reviewed Kazantsev’s performance of another Rachmaninov piece as “virtually flawless”.

Tickets for this Sunday’s concert are free to students, $20 for seniors and $25 general admission.

The pianist’s bio details: 

He has performed extensively with orchestras in Russia and the United States, as well as appearing in recital in Germany, Japan, Italy, France, Canada, Ukraine, Belarus, Russia, the United States, and Slovenia. His many awards and honors include first prize at the Nikolai Rubinstein International Competition (Paris); he also won the International Chopin Competition (Moscow) and the 2007 & 2008 World Piano Competitions (Cincinnati).

In 2014, Ilya was invited to join the esteemed Hermitage Piano Trio, which also includes the renowned soloists Misha Keylin (violin) and Sergey Antonov (cello). An enthusiastic advocate of contemporary music, Ilya has presented numerous premieres of works by contemporary American, Russian, and Eastern European composers, many of which have been dedicated to him. His advanced studies have included working with such prominent contemporary music specialists as Jay Gotlieb, Mark Ponthus and the legendary composer and conductor Pierre Boulez, who praised Ilya for his thoughtful performance of composer’s Douze Notations.

Ilya began his music studies in his native Moscow and at the age of nine was accepted as a student of Valeriy Pyasetsky at the Central Music School at the Tchaikovsky State Conservatory. Subsequently, he moved to the United States in 2002 to continue his studies at the Mannes College of Music and the Manhattan School of Music, working with Arkady Aronov. He currently resides in Boston, MA.

The concert is the 3rd in a “Southborough Sounds” music series organized by the school. More are coming up, so stay tuned for those details.

Updated (2/07/19 1:02 pm): Originally, I listed a higher ticket price. I had mistakenly quoted the online price of combined tickets for at least two concerts in the series. When I went to fix that, I found some discrepancies online about the upcoming schedule. I have stripped out the schedule I had listed for this spring until I get confirmation from the school of performances and dates.

Updated (2/08/19 8:40 am): I learned that tickets for seniors are only $20 each.

Updated (2/08/19 10:36 am): I got the correct information on the remainder of the series and ticket buying options. Following this Sunday’s recital, there are three concerts remaining in this school year’s Southborough Sounds series:

Concert 4: Sunday, March 17, 2019

Symphony Pro Musica – “Sacred and Profane”
2:45 p.m. lecture, 3:30 p.m. concert

Concert 5: Sunday, May 5, 2019

Symphony Pro Musica – “Rule Britannia!”
2:45 p.m. lecture, 3:30 p.m. concert

Concert 6: Sunday, May 19, 2019

The Hermitage Trio
2:45 p.m. lecture, 3:30 p.m. concert

You can find more details on the programs for the above concerts here.

If you plan to attend multiple concerts, you may want to purchase tickets for the remainder of the season:

  • Between Jan. 21 and Feb. 10, $100 general, $80 for Seniors
  • Between Feb. 11 and March 17, $75 general, $60 for Seniors
  • Between March 18 and May 5, $50 general, $40 for Seniors
  • Between May 6 and May 19, $25 general, $20 for Seniors

Click here to purchase those online.

  • © 2022 — All rights reserved.