Town Election and Candidates at-a-Glance (Updated)

Candidate positions and other details about the races for Select Board, School Committee, Planning Board, and BCTF

Reminder – voting in the annual Town election is this Tuesday, May 9th.

Here are the details you need, including links to information about the candidates running in the four contested races.

All three precincts vote in the gym at Trottier Middle School. (Use the side entrance, facing the outdoor track.) Polls are open from 6:30 am – 8:00 pm.

There are four races on this year’s ballot. Below is the list of candidates with links to the statements they submitted to MySouthborough (MS) and the Community Advocate (CA) and to information from Candidates’ Night.

Select Board – 3 years —vote for two

For related coverage of Candidates’ Night, click here.

Southborough School Committee – 3 years —vote for two

For related coverage of Candidates’ Night, click here.

Planning Board – 5 years

For related coverage of Candidates’ Night, click here.

Board of Commissioners of Trust Funds – 3 years

For related coverage of Candidates’ Night, click here.


The following uncontested candidates will also hope voters support them on the ballot.

Assabet Valley Regional Vocational District School Committee – 1 year
    Mark E. Pietrewicz (incumbent by interim appointment)

Board of Assessors – 3 years
    Tammi A. Rice (incumbent)

Board of Health – 3 years
    Elizabeth Sanford Zulick

Board of Trustees – Library – 3 years — vote for two
    Jane Cecilia Davis (incumbent)
    Amy S. Yazdani (incumbent)

Moderator – 1 year
    Paul M. Cimino (incumbent)

Northborough-Southborough Regional School Committee – 3 years
    Northborough Candidates — vote for two
        Christopher D. Covino (incumbent)
        Sean P. O’Shea (incumbent)
    Southborough Candidates — vote for two
        Paul H. Desmond (incumbent)
        John F. Wysocki (incumbent by interim appointment)

Southborough School Committee – 1 year
    Kamali A. O’Meally (incumbent)

Town Clerk – 3 years
    James F. Hegarty (incumbent)

You can view a sample ballot here.

For more details on the election, click here. [Note: There’s a feature on the Town website that promises to display a tally of how many people have voted throughout the day on Tuesday.]

Updated (5/8/23 8:35 am): Bill Boland submitted a Candidates’ Statement. It was past the deadline for posting as a letter (that would automatically be included in daily emails). But I do think that voters should have access to the information so they can make an informed choice when voting in the race for the Board of Commissioners of Trust Funds. Therefore, I added a link to a pdf of his letter in that section above.

  • © 2024 — All rights reserved.