Election Update

Two running for Select Board; Two more officials not running for re-election

One more candidate pulled papers for the Select Board, and two more Town officials reached out to me to let me know that they won’t be running for re-election this spring.

It’s worth pointing out that there is only one competitive race on the ballot to date (and a potential vacancy). Residents who decide to run still have two weeks to pull papers.

For the Select Board, we now have two residents preparing a potential run for the two seats. Al Hamilton is the latest to pull papers. (He joins Albena Phillipo.)

Earlier this week, I wrote about Select Board members running for Planning Board and the School Committee rather than for re-election. Planning Board’s Andrew Mills and School Committee’s Keturah Martin both got back to me to confirm their plans to step down at the end of their terms.

Mills, who is in his 13th year on the Planning Board wanted to assure supporters that he wasn’t being pushed out. He previously informed the Board of his intention not to run. He confirmed that when Lisa Braccio saw that he hadn’t pulled papers, she reached out to check that he wasn’t running before deciding to pull papers for the seat.

So far, Braccio’s the only candidate for Mills’ Planning Board seat. In contrast, there is already a race shaping up for two School Committee seats without Martin’s name in the mix. (The only race so far.) 

Martin wrote:

I’m so glad to see that there are multiple residents interested in School Committee! It’s a great way to be involved and contribute to our wonderful town.

Of her decision, Martin wrote:

It’s been a wonderful (and eventful!) six years. I’m looking forward to exploring other opportunities to serve the town in the future.

To run for any of the seats below this spring, candidates must pull papers by 5:00 pm on March 17th and file them by March 21st. So far, only about half of the candidates who pulled papers have filed to officially run. (Even those who have can still withdraw their names by April 6th to not be listed on the ballot.)

As of this morning, these are the residents who have pulled papers:

Town Clerk – 3 years
James F. Hegarty (incumbent)

Assabet Valley Regional Vocational District School Committee – 1 year
Mark E. Pietrewicz (incumbent by interim appointment)

Board of Assessors – 3 years
Tammi A. Rice (incumbent)

Board of Health – 3 years
No candidates yet

Board of Trustees – Library – 3 years — vote for two
Jane Cecilia Davis (incumbent)
Amy S. Yazdani (incumbent)

Board of Commissioners of Trust Funds – 3 years
Sam Stivers

Moderator – 1 year
Paul M. Cimino (incumbent)

Northborough-Southborough Regional School Committee- 3 years
Sorthborough Candidates — vote for two
Paul H. Desmond (incumbent)
John F. Wysocki

Planning Board – 5 years
Lisa Braccio

Select Board – 3 years — vote for two
Albena Phillipo
Alfred C. Hamilton

Southborough School Committee – 3 years — vote for two
Zhi Li
Chelsea Malinowski
Johanna A. Sheyner

Southborough School Committee – 1 year
Kamali A. O’Meally (incumbent)

For more details on the election, click here.

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
John Kendall
9 months ago

I’m happy to see that Al Hamilton pulled papers for selectman. Good luck!

Tim Martel
8 months ago

Thrilled to see Al running for BOS.

  • © 2023 MySouthborough.com — All rights reserved.